Games, News

When Is The Outer Worlds Coming Out? Release Time & Date

If you’re like us, then you can’t wait until The Outer Worlds releases and you want to start playing the game the second it’s available. So just what time and date is that? Read on for more details.

Maybe The Outer Worlds isn’t technically post-apocalyptic, but since it’s made by the creators of the original Fallout, we can’t help but write about it here on Post Apocalyptic Media.  It’s a scifi story with a decidedly Fallout atmosphere, and we’ve been excited ever since we first learned about it at The Game Awards 2018.

This is a single-player shooter RPG by the Obsidian, who created Fallout: New Vegas. It’s set in a dystopian universe with a pretty great sense of humor.

But enough of all this setup. Here are the times you can start playing. Although the game “technically” releases on October 25, many people will actually get to start playing on Thursday, October 24 depending on their time zone.


The Outer Worlds Release Time & Date for Console

If you’re playing on Console, such as Xbox Game Pass, then the game will be released simultaneously all across the U.S. The up-side of this for people on the West Coast is that you’ll get to start playing earlier in the evening than your East Coast peers, so you’ll get in more hours of playing time.

Pacific Time Zone: Thursday, October 25 at 9 p.m. Pacific

Central Time Zone: Thursday, October 24 at 11 p.m. Central

Eastern Time Zone: Friday, October 25 at 12 a.m. Eastern

And for outside the U.S.:

  • October 25, 2019, 2019 – 00:00 BRT
  • October 25, 2019, 2019 – 00:00 BST
  • October 25, 2019, 2019 – 00:00 CEST
  • October 25, 2019, 2019 – 00:00 SAST
  • October 25, 2019, 2019 – 00:00 MSK
  • October 25, 2019, 2019 – 00:00 SGT
  • October 25, 2019, 2019 – 00:00 JST
  • October 25, 2019, 2019 – 00:00 AEDT
  • October 25, 2019, 2019 – 00:00 NZST

Here’s a photo shared by Obsidian that shows the console release times on a map. You can see the full map here.

Obsidian

(Note: Some Xbox players are saying that if you set your location – not time zone – to New Zealand on Xbox, then you can start playing earlier. When I tried, it listed the release time as 6 a.m. But is that 6 a.m. New Zealand time, which is 1 p.m. Eastern, or is that 6 a.m. Central time? Honestly, I have no idea if this little location-change-trick would work or not, or just how early it would make the game available to you, but that’s the rumored trick other players are sharing.)


The Outer Worlds Release Time & Date for PC

If you’re playing on PC, such as Game Pass for PC, it’s a little more confusing. Release times on PCs are earlier than consoles, for an unknown reason.

Pacific Time Zone: Thursday, October 24 at 4 p.m. Pacific.

Central Time Zone: Thursday, October 24 at 6 p.m. Central (according to local players)

Eastern Time Zone: Thursday, October 24 at 7 p.m. Eastern.

BRT: October 24 at 20:00

BST (i.e. GMT+1): October 25 at Midnight

CEST & SAST: October 25 at 1 a.m.

MSK: October 25 at 2 a.m.

SGT: October 25 at 7 a.m.

JST: October 25 at 8 a.m.

AEDT: October 25 at 10 a.m.

NZST: October 25 at 12 p.m.

Of course, as a disclaimer, release times are subject to change and server issues could always cause delays. But these are the times as we know it so far. Here’s a photo shared by Obsidian that shows the PC release times on a map. You can see the full map here.

Obsidian

Outer Worlds Release Date & Time for Switch & Steam

As for Outer Worlds’ release time on Steam, it’s not clear quite yet. The latest news is that it could be as long as six months (around April 2020) before the game arrives on Steam. :(

And it will be sometime in 2020 before the game comes to Switch too.

Not excited enough yet? Here’s the trailer.

Want to stay updated on all things post-apocalyptic? Join our email list here

You can also buy The Outer Worlds through the link below (which is an affiliate link.)

The Outer Worlds - PlayStation 4
Price: $53.99
You save: $2.71 (5 %)
37 new from $53.991 used from $50.00

Hi! I'm Sara Lynne. Fan of the apocalypse, the post-apocalypse, and the dystopian. I kinda relate to things getting dark.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Leave a Reply

Be a Post-Apocalyptic Insider. Sign Up for Email Updates
Get the latest content about the end-of-the-world first.
We respect your privacy.

Send this to a friend