Anime, Chainsaw Man, News, TV Shows

Chainsaw Man’s Anime Expo Event: Time, Date & Live Updates

Chainsaw Man at Anime Expo 2022

Sharing is caring!

Anime Expo 2022 is going to feature a Chainsaw Man panel, and no one is quite sure what to expect. Will there be a big announcement about the premiere date or the cast? You’ll no doubt want to keep an eye out for all the details. Here’s what we know so far about the date and time of the panel, what we can expect to happen, and details about where to watch just in case any videos are posted online. 

(July 4 Update: Check our last section for live updates on the panel. And give us a like on our new Facebook page we’re building where we’ll share more Chainsaw Man news.)


The Chainsaw Man Panel Is Taking Place on Monday, July 4

Chainsaw Man (Crunchyroll)
Chainsaw Man (Crunchyroll)

According to Anime Expo 2022’s schedule, the Chainsaw Man panel takes place on Monday, July 4, at 11:30 a.m Pacific and it ends at 12:20 p.m. It will be located in the Main Events room. 

In other time zones, this is 12:30 p.m. Mountain, 1:30 p.m. Central, and 2:30 p.m. Eastern on July 4. In Anchorage, Alaska, that’s 10:30 a.m. on Monday, July 4. In Honolulu, Hawaii, that’s 8:30 a.m. on Monday, July 4. 

In other countries, this would be:

  • Tokyo, Japan: 3:30 a.m. on Tuesday, July 5
  • Amsterdam: 8:30 p.m. on Monday, July 4
  • Athens: 9:30 p.m. on Monday, July 4
  • Bangkok: 1:30 a.m. on Tuesday, July 5
  • Beijing: 2:30 a.m. on Tuesday, July 5
  • Beirut: 9:30 p.m. on Monday, July 4
  • Brussels: 8:30 p.m. on Monday, July 4
  • Hong Kong: 2:30 a.m. on Tuesday, July 5
  • Jerusalem: 9:30 p.m. on Monday, July 4
  • Paris: 8:30 p.m. on Monday, July 4
  • Sydney, Australia: 4:30 a.m. on Tuesday, July 5
  • Vancouver, Canada: 11:30 a.m. on Monday, July 4

Here’s a tweet with more examples. 


What’s Going to Happen at the Chainsaw Man Panel? 

Chainsaw Man (Crunchyroll)
Chainsaw Man (Crunchyroll)

Anime Expo’s listing simply describes the Chainsaw Man panel this way: “Join the upcoming anime Chainsaw Man producers’ panel!” The event is hosted by Crunchyroll and MAPPA. So they’re pretty sparse on providing any details on what to expect.

Bleeding Cool notes that the panelists are “TBD.” We only know that the host is going to be Crunchyroll’s Managing Editor, Kyle Cardine. 

Crunchyroll put out a call to fans before the exp0, sharing that they are gathering questions from fans to ask MAPPA during the panel. 

Many people think we’ll get another trailer for Chainsaw Man at the panel, perhaps news about the voice cast, and maybe even a premiere date. I’m certainly hoping for all of these! 


Live Updates & Who to Follow

Chainsaw Man (Crunchyroll)

There was no surefire way to watch the Chainsaw Man panel live online if you can’t attend in person. We did put together a list of people/sites to follow, where you’ll either get video clips of the panel or at the very least hear news as soon as it breaks. We’re also updating this story with live updates from the panel below. 

The Twitter account QuadLuck_ is attending live and wrote: “They stated if anyone is caught recording they will stop the event immediately and cancel it.”

https://twitter.com/QuadLuck_/status/1544002316692385792

A Chainsaw Man account on Twitter just shared a video below.  

https://twitter.com/Crunchyroll/status/1544026604128518144

You should also keep an eye on the hashtag #ChainsawManAX on Twitter. This was the hashtag used by Crunchyroll when taking questions for the panel, and will likely be the hashtag used for any big announcements or videos on July 4. But be cautious – there will likely be manga spoilers on that hashtag too! 

(On a side note: Anime Expo Lite is a digital version of the Anime Expo that lets you experience some events virtually, but not all of them. The digital schedule is online, and it appears to not be showing Chainsaw Man live, unfortunately.]

The Twitter account @Daoxingames is also providing updates. See their tweet below.  

Check out the size of the Chainsaw Man panel in the tweet above! 

So far, they’ve played the old teaser trailer, Quad tweeted, and the CEO of MAPPA is attending the panel. They might also play another trailer at the end of the panel. The host of the panel is dressed up as Denji, Quad shared. 

MAPPA has been interested in making Chainsaw Man into an anime ever since the manga first released, Quad shared. The CEO of MAPPA is also a huge fan of the manga and wanted to create an anime that l0yal fans will love.

The producer also noted: “We want to make sure everything is hard core, no soft stuff!”

The producer also said they’re working closely with Fujimoto. “We want this to be a representation of the original even down to the casting of the voicr actors.” 

Some people have been worried about censorship, but the producer assured the panel that he wants to maintain the rawness of the manga and the realness of the images. 

Quad also shared that the CEO’s favorite character is Power, and the producer’s favorite is Denji. 

Unfortunately, a new trailer was not revealed at the panel. Apparently more news is going to be released at the Crunchyroll Expo. 

Follow our new Chainsaw Man page on Facebook for more news. Want to chat about all things post-apocalyptic? Join our Discord server here. You can also follow us on Facebook or Twitter. Oh, and TikTok, too!

Stephanie Dwilson started Post Apocalyptic Media with her husband Derek. Her favorite shows of all-time are Attack on Titan, Battlestar Galactica and Lost, and she's always happy to talk about her cats. 🙂 She's a licensed attorney (currently not-practicing) and has a master's in science and technology journalism.

Sharing is caring!

Previous ArticleNext Article

Leave a Reply